outpost blocks this site (under block all mode)

  • i tried under both firefox and ie and its blocked for both of them

    http://betaplayer.corecodec.org/

    any suggestions?

    yes i turned off outpost and got to the site but other than that :) thanks


  • I don't see this as an error as such - this is simply a website triggering a connection on a non-standard port which is not included in the preset browser rules. This should then either be blocked (if in Block Most policy) or prompted for (if in Rules Wizard policy).

    While the IP address connected to is different from the website's address, this could be for legitimate reasons (it is for an image so maybe it is to reduce bandwidth usage - and hosting cost - for the website).


  • Did you see the connection to that port under network activity soon after you clicked the link? How is it that you could get there without allowing that connection but I had to allow it?


  • kronckew posted exactly the error i get, the site is for betaplayer which is a video player for pocket pc. Kinda wierd that its on port 8884


  • Try running in the wizard mode. It tries to make connections from port 8884. In the block most mode, this stops it and blocks the site. You have to allow those connections if you want to see the site.

    How is it that you can get there Hayc? You got that port open?


  • With my Outpost running
    got there with IE and Firefox
    without a problem
    running windows 98se


  • hi y'all

    just tried it myself to see if i could spot anything obvious, get an error logged under the 'My internet' section - blocked that says 'blocked all activity' for the reason, no entry under any of the plugins, disabling the plugins does not help either...cc. of log line follows:

    10:51:18 firefox.exe TCP 68.192.225.162 8884 Block All Activity

    a 'whereis' lookup on this ip produced the following:
    =========start (edited fir brevity)=============
    2004/05/25 11:01:04 REQUEST: address: 68.192.225.162
    2004/05/25 11:01:04 REQUEST: host: ool-44c0e1a2.dyn.optonline.net
    2004/05/25 11:01:04 REQUEST: using server whois.arin.net
    2004/05/25 11:01:05 SEND:68.192.225.162
    2004/05/25 11:01:05 ANSWER:

    OrgName: Optimum Online (Cablevision Systems)
    OrgID: OPTO
    Address: 111 new south RD
    City: Hicksville
    StateProv: NY
    PostalCode: 11801
    Country: US

    NetRange: 68.192.0.0 - 68.199.255.255
    CIDR: 68.192.0.0/13
    NetName: NETBLK-OOL-5BLK
    NetHandle: NET-68-192-0-0-1
    Parent: NET-68-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Allocation
    NameServer: NS.CV.NET
    NameServer: NS2.CV.NET
    Comment:
    RegDate: 2003-01-29
    Updated: 2003-06-05
    ===============end=================

    this is not on my blockpost banned list either, tho 68.192.220.221 IS (and is closeby) and is listed as Optonline piracy snitch. could they be blocking it themselves at optonline if port 8884 is not open to them?

    the actual url resolves to 207.44.244.117 if you ping it or tracert it & the whereis gives:
    =========start (edited for brevity)===================
    2004/05/25 11:18:00 REQUEST: address: 207.44.244.117
    2004/05/25 11:18:00 REQUEST: using server whois.arin.net
    2004/05/25 11:18:00 SEND:207.44.244.117
    2004/05/25 11:18:01 ANSWER:

    OrgName: Everyones Internet, Inc.
    OrgID: EVRY
    Address: 2600 Southwest Freeway
    Address: Suite 500
    City: Houston
    StateProv: TX
    PostalCode: 77098
    Country: US

    NetRange: 207.44.128.0 - 207.44.255.255
    CIDR: 207.44.128.0/17
    NetName: EVRY-BLK-11
    NetHandle: NET-207-44-128-0-1
    Parent: NET-207-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Allocation
    NameServer: NS1.EV1.NET
    NameServer: NS2.EV1.NET
    Comment:
    RegDate:
    Updated: 2002-05-08
    ==============end===============================

    the actual browser error is:
    ======start=======

    Connection Failure Error

    The connection was refused when attempting to contact corecodec.homeunix.org:8884.

    The browser was unable to connect to the specified site, even though it exists. This may be because the site does not accept connections from your computer, the service may be down, or the site does not support the service or port that you tried to connect to.

    Try again
    =======end========
    something looks fishy! (notice the url name change in the error....)

    w/o outpost you CAN connect, site seems to be 'music' related, could someone be fishing for pirates? ie. optonline?


  • Port:http://www.pcflank.com/img/wpxl.gifStatus Service Description 8884 stealthed n/a n/a

    Manny Results from pcflanks port test
    must be a gremlin all is blocked

    8884 (http://grc.com/port_8884.htm)http://grc.com/transpixel.gif
    StealthUnknown Protocol for this port
    Unknown Application for this port
    grc specified port test


  • Port 8884 is only used to download one image (ccdotorg.jpg) so blocking this should not cause a problem with the rest of the page. What exact results do you get SnowSurfer? (blank page, error message, partial page, etc).

    Previous problems of this type have been found to be Javascript related - try disabling Javascript in the Active Content plugin to see what difference this makes.







  • #If you have any other info about this subject , Please add it free.#
    Your name:
    E-mail:
    Telphone:

    Your comments:


    If you have any other info about outpost blocks this site (under block all mode) , Please add it free.